Cattle Industry Convention Sets Record Attendance in Nashville

By Vet-Advantage
July, 2017

The 2017 Cattle Industry Convention and National Cattlemen’s Beef Association (NCBA) Trade Show was held in February. More than 9,300 people attended this year’s convention – shattering the previous record of 8,200 – to engage in grassroots policy process, hear from industry experts and attend the expansive tradeshow. In addition, more than 350 exhibitors featured their wares and services on more than seven acres at the NCBA Trade Show.

New board members

Members elected Nebraska cattleman Craig Uden as the organization’s new president. Uden, a fourth-generation cattleman from Elwood, Neb., said he is proud to lead the organization.

“It is an honor to be selected to lead the industry that my family has worked in for four generations,” Uden said. “We have a great opportunity in the coming year and sharing our story on Capitol Hill and around the country is going to be top priority.”

Uden is a partner in Darr Feedlot Inc., a commercial cattlle feeding operation in central Nebraska. Craig and his wife, Terri, also own and manage a commercial cow-calf operation.

Policy priorities

In addition to electing the new officer team, NCBA members voted on new and expiring policy issues, and set policy priorities for the organization that will direct the efforts of NCBA in Washington D.C., and elsewhere.

“The coming year is going to be a huge one for the cattle and beef industry from a policy standpoint,” Uden said. “We are facing unprecedented change in Washington D.C., and we’re going to work tirelessly to make sure our producers’ voices are heard in Washington on important issues like tax reform, regulatory relief and international trade.”

As president of NCBA, Uden will lead the organization’s policy work and oversee efforts as a contractor to the Beef Checkoff Program.

Industry scholarships

Ten college students were awarded the 2017-2018 $1,500 CME Beef Industry Scholarships. The scholarship was sponsored by the CME Group and administered by the National Cattlemen’s Foundation (NCF). Taylre Sitz of Bozeman, Montana, was the overall essay winner.

“We’re pleased to continue our support of the CME Beef Industry Scholarships, which provide education to future beef industry leaders,” said Tim Andriesen, CME Group managing director of agricultural products. “Our partnership with NCF enables us to continue investing in accomplished university students who represent the next generation of food producers here in the U.S.”

The CME Beef Industry Scholarship was introduced in 1989 in partnership with the Chicago Mercantile Exchange. Today this scholarship tradition remains strong by recognizing and encouraging talented college students who will one day be industry leaders.

In addition to the $1,500 scholarship, Taylre Sitz received a trip to Nashville, Tenn., for the 2017 Cattle Industry Convention and NCBA Trade Show. Sitz currently attends Montana State University, where she is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in animal science, as well as a minor in business administration. She is currently enrolled in the pre-veterinary program with plans to become a large animal veterinarian.

“Growing up on a ranch, I developed a commitment to the beef industry at an early age,” Sitz said. “I am interested in becoming a large animal veterinarian, and through ranch life I have been able to see and visit as they doctored cut horses or lame cattle. These experiences only furthered my desire to pursue the large animal veterinary career.”

NCBA Board Members Elected:

  • Kevin Kester of Parkfield, Calif., president-elect 

  • Jennifer Houston of Sweetwater, Tenn., vice president 

  • Jerry Effertz of Velva, N.D., Federation chairman 

  • Dawn Caldwell of Edgar, Neb., Federation vice chair 

  • Joe Guild, Reno, Nev., policy division chairman 

  • Jerry Bohn of Pratt, Kan., policy vice chairman

$1,500 CME Scholarship Winners:

  • Thor Burnside, Fort Hays State University, Talala, Okla. 

  • Cole Grisham, West Texas A&M University, Van Vleck, Texas 

  • Emily Ivey, Land Lake College, Loudon, Tenn. 

  • Abby Marion, University of Florida, Deltona, Fla. 

  • Garrett Nichols, Iowa State University, Marshalltown, Iowa 

  • Dan Johnson, Kansas State University, Dillion, Mont. 

  • Shelby Schiefelbein, Texas A&M University, Kimball, Minn. 

  • Madison Slaven, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Va. 

  • Rachel Waggie, Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan.

Topics: ncba, 2017 Livestock Summer


Subscribe to Email Updates